



1961 Elmhurst Travelers Semi-Pro Football Team

Top Row: #88 Don Busch, #53 Jerry Schropp, #54 John Forden, #85 Jim Lavan, #33 Pat Albanese, #53 Darrel Corbett, #60 Dale Berman, #76 Len Jacobson, #75 Charles Smith, #46 Charlie Thomas

Third Row: #67 Jack Kellerman, #70 Fritz Fiorelli, #45 Roman Strzala, #21 Tom Nagle, #74 Art Grob, #65 Jack Benner, #71 Roger Moos, #84 Gene Larsen, #32 Phil Newman, #83 Herman Frazier, Al Klaeren

Second Row: Jim Kulton, #34 Jim Alexander, #20 Willie Lightfoot, #24 Bob Cook, #35 Wayne Mills, #81 Milt Cully, #30 Jim Oldham, #78 Mel Woods, #68 Jack Perry, #72 Chester Moore, Al Dobbeck

First Row: Jack Gazelle, #66 Sam Robinson, #23 Marty Denemark, #26 Butch Hansen, #51 Gerry Auchstetter, #16 Bill Owen, #55 Larry Schmidt, #89 Willie Schmidt, #63 Dave Radford, #10 Norm Nissen, #43 Curtis Griswold, Coach George Kulton

Aside from the AFA National Association's concerns for bringing recognition to today's market of semipro type teams and leagues - its desire to keep alive the memories of those who were associated with this level of the sport for the past 100 years has come to the forefront in the formation of the AFA's Alumni Clubs. Operating under the umbrella of the AFA's non-profit tax exempt corporation, the American Football Association has begun issuing "Charters" to team, regional and state alumni organization who qualify for official Alumni Club status.

The Elmhurst Travelers Semi Pro Football Team played in the Bi-State, Tri State and Central States Leagues from 1927 – 1968. They played teams from Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Racine, Two Rivers, Cudahay, Delavan, Madison (WI), Calumet City (IN) and the Chicago Hornets, Aurora Clippers and Chicago Panthers of Illinois.

The Elmhurst Travelers, coached and owned by George Kulton (AFA Hall of Fame Class of 1986), compiled a record of 292 wins, 79 losses, 29 ties and had 11 undefeated seasons from 1927 – 1968.

Coach Kulton sold the team in 1968 to Rockford, Illinois. They are 36 Elmhurst Travelers in the American Football Association's Semi-Pro Hall of Fame.

The Elmhurst Travelers Football Alumni Association was started in 2008 to rekindle old Traveler friendships.

Elmhurst Travelers Football Alumni Association Board of Directors

Roman E. Strzala, President	AFA Class of 2002
Larry Schmidt, Secretary	AFA Class of 2008
Jack Perry, Treasurer	AFA Class of 2010
Andy Tranchita, Director	AFA Class of 2011
Mike "Chico" Cain, Director	AFA Class of 2006
Eugene "Chick" Cichowski	AFA Class of 2009

Elmhurst Travelers Alumni

Jerry Auchstetter	Carl "Bill" Neal - AFA Class of 2011
Jim Bejna - AFA Class of 2009	Jack Perry - AFA Class of 2010
Dale Berman - AFA Class of 2011	Larry Schmidt - AFA Class of 2008
Mike "Chico" Cain - AFA Class of 2006	Roman E. Strzala - AFA Class of 2002
Eugene "Chick" Cichowski - AFA Class of	Walter Thiel - AFA Class of 2015
2009 Ron "Butch" Hansen - AFA Class of	Gary Thomas - AFA Class of 2007
2010 Robert Harrison - AFA Class of 2011	Andy Tranchita - AFA Class of 2011
Simeon Hendrickson - AFA Class of 2012	Ben Ward - AFA Class of 2010
Bobby Hitz - AFA Class of 2015	Mal Yarke - AFA Class of 2009
James Kulton - AFA Class of 2010	Thomas L. Miniscalco - AFA Class of 2017
Eugene Larsen - AFA Class of 2014	